Newb to Ultimate

By on December 22, 2011 5:27:19 PM from GalCiv II Forums GalCiv II Forums

Monarch1st

Join Date 12/2009

Hi all. I'm new to ultimate, having got it just today during the special.

Really you could say I'm new to galciv, having played only a few games of dread lords, and that was a while back.

I've found the wiki and am reading up on it, so won't have questions on most things until finished anyway.

What I do have a question on is: how to cheat? I put the parameter in the shortcut like the wiki says, but you have to use galciv2.exe, not gc2launch. But then it crashes if you start in the twilight folder. But if you don't start in the twilight folder, you aren't playing ultimate.

Before anyone says anything, this is how & why I use cheats. I 'fix' everything except one element and play until I thoroughly understand that one thing. Then fix all but another element until that's understood, so now two elements are released to the real world. Then fix another, and another until all are understood and no cheating. I find this to be a fast way of climbing the learning curve without the pain of losing over and over until you finally get it. Not that it should matter to anyone, but most always someone complains so hopefully now they wont. Wishful thinking maybe.

So anyway, thanks for the help. It looks to be a very fun game so far. Once I understand it anyway.

8 Replies
Search this post
Subscription Options

Reason for Karma (Optional)
Successfully updated karma reason!
December 22, 2011 10:15:51 PM from GalCiv II Forums GalCiv II Forums

Well this is what I use on my shortcurt properties (Twilight of the Arnor)

TARGET

D:\GalCiv2EU\Twilight\GC2TwilightOfTheArnor.exe cheat

space then cheat

There is a post on here somehwere with the list of cheats that can be done

December 22, 2011 10:31:02 PM from GalCiv II Forums GalCiv II Forums

Welcome Monarch1st to Galactic Civilzations II.