Need help on GalCiv2 ultimate edition cheats how do you make them work?

GalCiv2 ultimate edition cheat

By on June 28, 2010 6:10:48 PM from GalCiv II Forums GalCiv II Forums

Trius95

Join Date 06/2010

Hey guys, I'm relativity new here on GalCiv's forums but I'm in a dilemma how do you make the GalCiv2 Ultimate Edition cheats work I keep reading everywhere that you have to add "cheat" to the command line parameter, but I'm no programmer if anyone can give me a walk through on how to enable cheats on GalCiv 2 ultimate edition the help would be greatly appreciated

10 Replies
Search this post
Subscription Options

Reason for Karma (Optional)
Successfully updated karma reason!
June 29, 2010 7:00:26 PM from GalCiv II Forums GalCiv II Forums

I don't know anything specific about where UE puts things or how it works but the first thing you need to do is to figure out whether you're calling the executable directly or whether you use an intermediate launcher program like what's used in the more "normal" configuration of the game plus expansions.

Just navigate the Start Menu to where you usually launch the game, however instead of left clicking to start the game right click to bring up a menu, at the bottom of which should be "Properties". Clicking on properties lists the properties of the shortcut you use to play the game. Look for the string listed under "Target".

In my case that string is "C:\Games\GalCiv2\Twilight\TALaunch.exe" but that depends on the version of the game that you're playing as well as where you decided to install the game. However in regard to using cheat mode the key thing is that the actual executable that is being called is TALaunch.exe. That's what I referred to as the intermediate launcher program. You cannot use cheat mode when using a launcher. Instead you need to create a shortcut directly to the executable that you want to play in cheat mode.