Overflow Mechanics?

By on November 1, 2012 1:15:33 AM from Stardock Forums Stardock Forums

Cookar

Join Date 10/2012

I'm completely new to this series, having just bought it on Steam the other day.  I'm not new to the genre.  I'm trying to understand what happens to leftover production when a ship or improvement is completed.  For instance, if a unit costs 100 production and I add 20 production to it on a turn on which I had already invested 99 previously, what happens to the 19 "extra" production.  Similarly, I would like to know what happens to leftover research when a technology is researched.

From playing around with the game, it appears that at least for improvements, the excess production is entirely lost.  Is this correct?  Am I still paying for the production that is wasted?  Are there any tips for dealing with your empire to minimize production or research lost to overflow?

Also is there any "easy" way to see how much an improvement costs?  I can't figure it out without messing with sliders and until I find the break point where it goes from x turns to x+1 turns.  Right clicking seems to do nothing and I can't find a civilopedia type of thing in game.

3 Replies
Search this post
Subscription Options

Reason for Karma (Optional)
Successfully updated karma reason!
November 1, 2012 9:07:01 AM from GalCiv II Forums GalCiv II Forums

I'm not sure about the overflow for improvements but as far as I'm aware leftover production does carry over between ship production.  I remember because there was a stink about it years back and there was a patch which addressed it.