Buy vs Build?

By on February 20, 2012 1:46:27 PM from GalCiv II Forums GalCiv II Forums

Luriant

Join Date 12/2011

Excuse my bad english

I'm a little new to GalCiv2, and i'm searching for info about the economic changes in TA and the end of all-x economy strategy.
I have a question. I created a little excel table with all cost of rushbuy, and Galactic Manufacturing Corps are the best company to buy ships, the final cost is between 6x and 12x the original cost (more cost, more multiplicity). As neutral the cost is between 4,5x and 9x (25% discount).

Is viable a strategy with lot Economic worlds (and some research worlds) and instabuy ship at 12x cost? Production an military spending will be 0.
Or is better to buy 1(or more) manufacturing worlds for the real cost, adding all the research needed for better buildings and spliting the taxes between military-social-research?

6 Replies
Search this post
Subscription Options

Reason for Karma (Optional)
Successfully updated karma reason!
February 20, 2012 3:49:49 PM from GalCiv II Forums GalCiv II Forums

Contrary to popular belief, TA didn't really bring sweeping economic changes to the table.  The income function is still the same, and the tourism function is, I believe, increased.  However, there's less morale on your HW, as well as less morale from trade goods if you don't use a Terran or Minor tech tree, in addition to more morale holes in specific tech trees.

The reason TA's economy is harder is because everything costs more maintenance, and gives less output.  But the income dynamics haven't changed, and an all-economy strategy is still viable; particularly when paired with Neutral and Thalan or Korx tech trees, since the rush buy purchase reduction didn't actually work in DL or DA.  Furthermore, techs cost more in TA, with inflation thresholds that kick in earlier, and peak higher, reducing the pace of your civilization's research.